top of page

POST PITCH NIGHT 2015 DECISION

My project was not chosen to be turned into a collaboration class. But it’s okay; failing is just another form of learning. I didn’t get direct feedback as to why it wasn’t chosen, but I believe that my Technical Design Document wasn’t very good (since I had never created one before). Also, my project would have started afresh while the other project already had a semester’s worth of collaboration work so maybe that helped push it to being chosen. Either way, being my thesis project, I would still be working on this project, even if it’s just myself!

It’s a few weeks into my final semester and I’m a bit behind on the work that needs to get done to get this project up to par. I still need to refine and polish the sword and shield game play, add proper UI, and tutorialize the level for a smooth transition between learning the controls and having fun.

I’m taking a little bit of time in refining my resume, website, and creating some business cards because I definitely missed out when I attended the Game Developer’s Conference 2016 last week and didn’t do much networking. Since I will be applying for jobs soon, I need to have those items up to par to showcase what I can do and what I have done.

By week’s end, I hope to add in animated models from Mixamo.com and have them scripted appropriately so that it’s fun to use the sword and shield mechanics to fight them. I also need to add UI so that I can get feedback next week. I also want to make sure that the pacing of the short level is appropriate and I’m treating this like a demo with a short, fun and tutorialized level. I’ve already scripted in the big melee enemy and while I don’t have access to the tech that’s needed to properly playtest it, it’s fun to see that I have models in there as opposed to seeing capsules everywhere! I also talked to an audio friend that attends AAU and he will be creating some audio assets for my project, so I can’t wait to implement that!

I need to make sure that playing this is FUN. FUN. FUN. And to start thinking about juice… (that little bit of extra polish that makes things fun to look at and fun to hear).

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page