top of page

CRITIQUES AND CHANGES

After presenting my project to Oculus Story Studio’s representatives and a few teachers, I got some really good feedback in making my project better. I’ve also talked to another teacher about showing my project to the class and having a blind play-test session in order to improve the game’s User Experience. I’m hoping that I can gain even more feedback, without my direct intervention, about how to make the game a better experience for players.

Some critiques that have already been implemented into the game are as follows:

  • Making the in-game gesture recognizer appear bigger so that it matches the runic symbols shown on the shield’s runes (for matching gestures to)

  • Providing a reference to where the player’s forward direction is at all times

  • Using a marker or reference of some sort to show how close you are to an object in order to figure out if it can be reached by the player’s sword

  • This is really important because as a demo, the player will not have a chance to get a feel for the distance between themselves and the objects in front of them

I’ve also changed a few things based on my observations and those are:

  • I’ve taken away the feature of slowing/stopping the enemies during spellcasting

  • Most of the people playing this would try to snipe the enemies. Therefore, by having the enemies stopped/slowed, the enemies won’t have a chance to really attack the player if they are being fired upon constantly with magic

  • This also means that I need to have the enemies go into combat mode as soon as they get hit by magic instead of just entering their trigger zones

  • They keep missing one enemy so I’ve had to change the position of that specific enemy

  • For this demo, they have to kill every enemy in order to fill up their special meter in order to summon a special beast that will end the demo

  • I’ve also decided to get rid of the durability meters for both the shield and sword

  • For a full game, this system will return to flesh out the system of repairing, replacing, and crafting weapons and shields

  • I’ve had to increase the trigger zones of the ranged enemies so that they feel like actual ranged enemies

  • I’ve increased the speed of the fireball’s movement and made it so they get destroyed after a certain amount of time

It’s all about polishing, refining, and fixing things at this point. I’ve been told that I can present my project to some Unity representatives next week, so I’m pretty excited about that too!

On a side note, I’ve received an email that I’ve been accepted into the Academy of Art University’s Spring Show 2016! I don’t know whether it’s this project that’s been accepted or another project that I submitted (or even both?!) but I’m glad I can participate in the Spring Show before I graduate this semester!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page