top of page

CRITICAL CHANGES

I’ve talked to two teachers regarding feedback on game play and deciding whether or not I port the game to HTC’s Vive since the school just got the hardware today. There was a lengthy discussion regarding the time that it’ll take to port my game to new hardware and whether that time is being spent wisely as opposed to using that time to tighten up several aspects of my game.

Specifically, the movement system needs to be reworked slightly so that combat is more fun and intuitive than it’s current form. The motion controllers that are being used have no joystick, so I’ve had to rely on holding a trigger down and using the controller’s rotational values to turn the player and buttons to move forward and backwards. I’ll be changing it so that the trigger button, when held and the controller rotated left/right and forward/back, will move the player appropriately. This will carry forward into combat mode.

In combat mode, my lock-on feature will be automated so that movement will cause the player to strafe left/right and move forward/backwards in accordance with the locked-on enemy. The current buttons to activate the lock-on feature will simply move on to the next target or the previous target if there are multiple enemies that are being engaged.

Another huge aspect that needs to be addressed before porting to the vive (if it does get ported) is that I need an actual level layout that has enough room to teach the player how to play and utilize all the mechanics that I have put in. A proper level and proper tutorializing will help increase the learning factor in terms of User Experience and will hopefully make things more fun with better pacing.

I believe I can get all this done this weekend and hopefully I can use the next week to port my game to the vive. There are several reasons why I want to push this to the vive so quickly:

  • I want to send a build to the Unity representatives that came by earlier this week because they were interested in having a build and I want to see where that could lead to

  • I want to use relevant technology instead of using the Playstation Move controllers that have been outdated for many years

  • Cutting out the Playstation 3 in my hardware setup will save a lot of time and trouble

I have ported a game to the vive before so I know it will be pretty easy. I would just have to port my control setup to the vive’s motion controllers and do some tweaking so that everything feels good on the vive. I’m pretty excited to play around with the vive! However, before I can port to the vive, I need to fix these problems to make the game better; regardless of which platform it’s being played on.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page