top of page

GESTURE CONTROL SYSTEM

Currently, my programmer friend is figuring out how to implement gestures with the motion controller since it is the most important mechanic for my thesis project. When discussing best practices for gestures, she mentioned that they should be simple and to utilize two axis for easier implementation instead of all three axis. While talking about this, I immediately thought of a system of combining up to three gestures to perform more advanced, and stronger, spells. That seemed like a good idea but I also wanted to have a separate more advanced gesture for Summons (similar to Final Fantasy summonings). But then she mentioned that maybe instead of casting a third level of a strong spell, it could be the summon instead. I totally bought that and it makes sense because we need to have simple gestures in order for it to read well. I created specification documents to fully understand how these gestures work together and how they will perform different abilities based on how many gestures were inputted.

The next iteration of testing will involve the new movement system as well as gesture inputs and how effective the proposed mechanics are working together. I plan to bring the game to the game lab and invite anyone there to test and provide feedback. If possible, I would also like to get some teachers to test the game and see where it needs to have more polish.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page